My Chrismas top 10 songs countdown

10.

And so this is Christmas.  And all we hear on the radio is Christmas melodies and happy Jingles.  Some people despise Christmas music  but I am not amongst them.  As soon as November fades out, I find my favorite Christmas radio station and I have a blast while driving,  sometimes thinking whether I have been good or bad, or smelling the wonderful smell of chestnuts roasting on an open fire.   Christmas is all about magic.  And there is nothing more magic than   watching a prima ballerina dancing the sugarplum fairy in Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker.  To me growing up with a grandpa who loved the ballet and taking me along,  this is a childhood Chrismas memory.

9.

There have been so many “velvet” voices singing Christmas melodies,  from Nat King Cole to Ella Fitzgerald,  and from Mikael Buble’  to Doris Day.  But in my mind nobody but nobody beats the handsome duo of  Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby.  I discovered this  video, a few years ago and it  has become my favorite Christmas little story with a dinner included. And although we will not have a White Christmas this year in Maryland,  there is always next Christmas.

8.

Old British song ” God rest ye merry gentlemen”  performed by wonderful Annie Lenox.   The video has this old Victorian flavor that makes you think  Ebenezer Scrooge is about to appear in the fog.

7.

This has been one of my favorite songs for years.  Christmas time in the city.  While I was walking in the busy streets of downtown San Francisco a few weeks ago, and there was one Salvation Army bell ringer outside  every store, I was thinking that I miss Christmas in the city,  so lively and colorful.  Here is New York City, the place to be for Christmas and New Year’s

6.

Another childhood memory, Petit Papa Noel ,  that our music teacher was trying to have us sing in the chorus of our high school.  With the help of soeur Emilienne,  who stood there as a guardian of our proper dress code and our lady behavior.

5.

And so this is Christmas, and what have you done?  Boy George was my absolute favorite singer in the beginning of the ’80s.  A year gone by,  during which we forget all the resolutions we made, all the promises to ourselves.  This is not the time to repeat the same mistakes anymore.  The world is suffering,  people need one another,  there is no much joy on this planet.   Give a hand and a smile to your neighbor.  This is what Christmas is all about.

4.

Another song written for a good cause in the early ’80s.  It stays always in my top list as I love each and everyone who sang a few words in it.

3.

Ok, now you know that I love the Eurithmics and I adore Annie Lenox.  I think this version of Winter Wonderland is the most powerful ever.

2.

This year I re-discovered the old song ” baby it’s cold”  outside, in a faster version by She and Him.  Granted it has been paying more this year on my radio.  Enjoy!

1.

The number one song for this Christmas is one that I always sing along with Elvis, trying to imitate his voice and his accent as well.  But most of all this song relates to me in a big way.  I spend Christmas here missing family and friends, I spend Christmas there missing my own kids.  So there is no doubt that there is always a blue blue tear for every Christmas.  Because someone is not there.

Whatever you do this Christmas, I hope you are surrounded with people you love and love you.  As I am off for the last Christmas preparations,  I wish that you always hear happy jingles,  that Santa brings you what you wished  for, as he walks down Santa Claus Lane,  that you be good for goodness sake,  that you give your heart like last Christmas, even if it is to someone else, because this is what Christmas is all about.  And as Rudolph the most famous reindeer of all passes over your roof, dashing through the snow, look up and wish better days for all, so we all have a Merry Christmas, and we all have good nights.

I embrace you dearly.

6 comments on “My Chrismas top 10 songs countdown

  1. margarita says:

    Merry christmas to you too.. may people think about love and help and compassion and charity every day and not only on christmas days.. ( though I dont like christmas I love christmas songs and eurythmics !!. ) Iτ looked as if we would have white christmas but now the rain came and all is green again..
    Μ αρεσουν και τα καλαντα!! τριγωνα καλαντα κλπ κλπ..

  2. despinarion says:

    People definitely should be compassionate all year long, but let Christmas be a reminder (booster as we say ). And you like Christmas songs and the carols. So I say you secretly like Christmas dear Margot! To you and all your loved ones, I wish Merry Christmas, smiles and good health. I miss Christmas in Munich. Maybe I can stop by next Christmas.

  3. Maria says:

    Κλασσικά κι αγαπημένα τα τραγούδια που επέλεξες σήμερα, Δεσποινούλα μου.
    Σου εύχομαι Χαρούμενα Χριστούγεννα. Αν θέλεις δες και τις δικές μου ευχές εδώ.
    http://mydaypick.blogspot.com/2011/12/m-e-r-r-y-c-h-r-i-s-t-m-s.html
    η Μαρία που σε διαβάζει για περίπου δύο χρόνια!

  4. Maria says:

    Κλασσικά κι αγαπημένα τα τραγούδια που επέλεξες σήμερα Δεσποινούλα μου.
    Αν θες να δεις και τις δικές μου ευχές θα τις βρεις εδώ, στο blog που τελικά έκανα.
    http://mydaypick.blogspot.com/2011/12/m-e-r-r-y-c-h-r-i-s-t-m-s.html
    η Μαρία που σε διαβάζει, και σε απολαμβάνει για περίπου δύο χρόνια.

  5. persönlich says:

    Εαν υπαρχει κατι που σιχαινομαι περισσοτερο
    απο το.. φθηνο κρασι,
    τοτε ειναι τα Χριστουγεννιατικα τραγουδια!
    Γενικα σιχαινομαι τα εθιμα που αναπτυσονται γυρω απο τα ηθη.
    (Ηθη και εθιμα ο λογος,Τοσο τα θρησκευτικα,οσο και τα πατριωτικα)
    Περι..ορεξεως ομως,ουδις λογος.
    Γουστα και “αναγκες” ειναι αυτα😉
    Εν τουτοις,ευχομαι ..καλιφωνα..ευτυχισμενα Χριστουγεννα!
    Ps..Μακια πολλα!

Leave a Reply

